The first stage of the restoration of the building began on August 5th, 2009, when the building was lifted from its original 1904 location. A new foundation and basement were build over the couse of these last six months.
The APP building was built by the International Coke and Coal Company. From 1904 to 1917, it was leased by the Royal North West Mounted Police as their barracks. With the formation of the Alberta Provincial Police in 1917, it served their needs until 1923.
The building was location of the shooting of Constable Stephen Lawson, and stands as a unique piece of the history of the Crowsnest Pass, and of Alberta.
The Legends of Prohibition project aims to restore this building to its original state, and use it as an interpretive exhibit of the Crowsnest Museum. Stay tuned for more information as the project continues to move forward.