« Summer 2011 | Main | APP Building Move »

2010 Annual General Meeting

The Crowsnest Historical Society held its Annual General Meeting on February 21st, 2010 at the Coleman Seniors Center. The AGM is a time for the membership of the Historical Society to catch up on the happenings of the Society and Museum for the past year, hear plans for the future, and elect the board of directors that will head the Society in the coming year.

The meeting began with tying up some loose ends. Minutes from meetings of the membership must be approved by the membership, so as there is usually only one meeting a year, the first order of business was approving the minutes from the 2009 AGM, as well as from a Special Resolutions Meeting from 2009.

Society president Donna Kubian presented the President’s Report; a report on the Society’s activities in 2009 and events and goals for 2010. Museum Curator Wendy Zack then took the stage to present the 2009 financial statements, and answered any questions.

The last order of business for the AGM was the election of the new board of directors. In an effort to stagger director terms to prevent a situation where many directors were leaving at the same time, directors were elected into one, who and three year terms.

The newly elected directors are as follows:

Three Year Term:  Bruce Decoux, Don Harvey, Joanne Wilson

Two Year Term:  Claire Allum, John Salus, Donna Kubian

One Year Term:  Henry Bruns, Bill Paton and Stephanie Hamilton

The meeting was called to a close, and guest speaker Joe Lothian, author a locally themed historical novel, “The Grasshopper,” gave a presentation of his life in the Crowsnest Pass.


View the Draft of the minutes from the meeting by clicking here (.pdf)

References (12)

References allow you to track sources for this article, as well as articles that were written in response to this article.

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>