The Team

Our Governance 

2021 Board of Directors: 

  • Pat Rypien (President) 

  • Dawn Rigby (Vice President) 

  • Rudy Pagnucco

  • Isabel Russell 

  • Lori Prentice 

  • Gail Williams 

  • Jan Fabro 

  • Fred Bradley 

  • Myriah Sagrafena

Crowsnest Historical Society Board with Honorary Member Recipients (absent Isabel Russell, Myriah Sagrafena)

Our Staff

Chris Matthews 

Executive Director

Chris (pictured on left) joined the Museum in 2011 returning to his home province after a stint on the east coast. Since coming to the Museum Chris has taken on the major task of being the Museum’s administrator along with focusing on exhibit creation, event coordination and fundraising. Highlighting some of his recent work is the Hillcrest Mine Disaster Centennial and the Alberta Provincial Police Barracks Project. 


Chris holds an Honours BA and MA degrees in History at Dalhousie University, Halifax Nova Scotia.  He has also completed the Alberta Museums Association’s Certificate in Museum Studies. 

Michelle Cavanagh

Collection Manager

Michelle is the longest tenured staff at the Museum. Her 16 years of experience in the collection have made her a walking encyclopedia of Crowsnest Pass history. Most of the research done at the Museum starts with talking to Michelle. She is literally the keeper of history. 


Jennyce Hoffman

Marketing & Communications

Jennyce recently joined the Crowsnest Museum team in March 2021 as the Communications Lead for Heritage Crowsnest.

A transplant from Calgary, she previously worked at the Glenbow Museum. She handles all the fun stuff, like social media accounts, donor database systems, and caretaking for the Mannequins. Outside of work you may find her mountain biking on Pass Powderkeg or bouldering in Frank Slide.

Jennyce holds a BA in Cultural Anthropology and Archaeology from the University of New Brunswick and a MA in Museum Studies from the University of Leicester, UK.